Tech corner

New game releases for summer

2018 has been a great year for gaming, with bestselling releases such as Detroit: Become Human, Far Cry 5 and God of War dominating the charts. Let’s take a look at some of the games set to be released in the next two months.

Spyro Reignited Trilogy

Bringing with it the same childhood nostalgia as the remaster of Crash Bandicoot last year, Spyro Reignited Trilogy is a collection of remasters of the first three Spyro games.

A demo of Spyro Reignited Trilogy was playable at E3 2018.

GameSpot noted that while the games were graphically overhauled, the layouts of each level remained the same as in the originals, including the location of enemies and items. The physical release of the game only contains content from Spyro the Dragon, while Ripto's Rage! and Year of the Dragon must be downloaded as part of an in-game update. The game will be released on 21st September.


We Happy Few

We Happy Few is an indie survival and adventure offering from Compulsion Games and Gearbox Publishing. Released as an early access title in July 2016 on Windows only, all versions of the full game, including PlayStation 4 and Xbox One, will be released on the 10th of this month.

Set during the mid-1960s, following an alternative version of World War II, players are able to take control over one of three characters, each of whom is seeking to complete a personal task while escaping the fictional city of Wellington Wells. This is a crumbling dystopia on the verge of societal collapse, due to the overuse of a hallucinogenic drug that keeps its inhabitants blissfully unaware about the truth of their world, while leaving them easily manipulated and lacking morals.


The Walking Dead: The Final Season

Fans of Telltale’s The Walking Dead series will either be excited about this release or devastated that the series has finally come to an end. The Walking Dead: The Final Season is the fourth main game in The Walking Dead video game series, based on Robert Kirkman's popular comic book saga. The first of four episodes is expected to be released on the 14th of this month.

The game follows the concluding story involving previous character Clementine, and will take place some years after the events of The Walking Dead: A New Frontier. The game will be the first major release by Telltale after a major restructuring, returning to themes and elements from the first season. It is expected to be the last game Telltale releases with their Telltale Tool engine.


Marvel’s Spider-Man

Packed with action and adventure, Marvel's Spider-Man has been developed by Insomniac Games and published by Sony Interactive Entertainment for PlayStation 4. It will be the first licensed game developed by Insomniac, telling a brand new story about Spider-Man that is not tied to any existing comic book, video game or film, covering both the Peter Parker and Spider-Man aspects of the character and featuring an older and more experienced eponymous hero.

The game is set to be released worldwide on 7th September. There will be extra content added via the City Never Sleeps Initiative as time goes on, including new characters from the Spider-Man universe and new unlockable suits for your favourite superhero to wear.

Sign up for our newsletter

KCOM respects your privacy. View our Privacy Notice to learn more.